Alternate Page for Screenreader Users

BearPaw Digital Library - Stefanie Varze

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Stefanie Varze

Guides

Aboriginal Fiction & Literature e-Books
by Stefanie Varze - Last Updated Jun 27, 2017
This section contains novels, short stories, folktales, and poetry from Aboriginal writers or with an Aboriginal theme
Tags: e-books, folklore, folktales, literature, mythology, novels, poetry, short stories
Aboriginal Identity, Treaty & Status Rights
by Stefanie Varze - Last Updated Jun 27, 2017
This section contains resources relating to who classifies or identifies as Aboriginal, and what their legal rights are.
Tags: aboriginal identity, benefits, government, health, identity, indian act, land claim, legislation, numbered treaties, rights, status indian, taxation, taxes, treaty education, treaty rights
Aboriginal Knowledge & Spirituality
by Stefanie Varze - Last Updated Jun 27, 2017
This section contains materials relating to Aboriginal philosophy and spirituality.
Tags: education, environment, natural resources, spirituality, teachings, traditional knowledge, treaty education
Aboriginal Languages
by Stefanie Varze - Last Updated Jun 27, 2017
This section provides language-learning, language preservation, and language revitalization resources.
Tags: apps, cherokee, cree, culture, dene, dictionary, inuktitut, language, language revitalization, mi'kmaq, michif, ojibway, ojibwe
Aboriginal Non-Fiction e-Books
by Stefanie Varze - Last Updated Jun 27, 2017
This sections contains e-Books on topics such as: tribal ethnography, biographies, Aboriginal crafts and customs, history, and more
Tags: biography, colonial, crafts, customs, e-books, ethnography, history, language, linguistics
BearPaw Full-Length Legal Education Videos
by Stefanie Varze - Last Updated Jun 27, 2017
This section contains full-length videos produced by BearPaw Media Productions.
Tags: aids, cyber-bullying, divorce, documentaries, family violence, hiv, legal education, videos
BearPaw Legal Education Podcasts
by Stefanie Varze - Last Updated Jun 27, 2017
This guide features podcasts produced by BearPaw Media, which focus on legal and other issues relevant to Aboriginal Canadians.
Tags: aboriginal identity, aids, audio, cyber-bullying, divorce, fetal alcohol syndrome, foster care, gladue, health, hiv, kinship, parenting, podcasts, radio
BearPaw Legal Education Videos (Trailers, Clips, & Teasers)
by Stefanie Varze - Last Updated Jun 27, 2017
This section offers trailers and short clips from our various BearPaw Media productions.
Tags: documentaries, legal education, trailers, videos
Breach, Parole, Pardons/Record Suspensions
by Stefanie Varze - Last Updated Jun 27, 2017
This section focuses on the law as it relates to breach charges and sentencing conditions.
Tags: bail, breach, conditional release, courts, hearings, justice system, pardon, parole, record suspension, sentencing
Court Processes & Working With a Lawyer
by Stefanie Varze - Last Updated Jun 27, 2017
This section contains resources on what to expect in the courtroom and how you can work with your lawyer.
Tags: court procedures, court processes, courts, justice system, lawyer, offenders
Duty To Consult
by Stefanie Varze - Last Updated Jun 27, 2017
This section focuses on the Crown's obligation to consult with Aboriginal communities who may be affected by new legislation or development projects.
Tags: consult, consultation, development projects, free prior and informed consent, human rights, land claim, land management, land use, legislation, natural resources, treaty rights
Education & Literacy
by Stefanie Varze - Last Updated Jun 27, 2017
This section provides resources relevant to Aboriginal education and literacy initiatives.
Tags: aboriginal education, cyber-bullying, education, inclusive education, learning, literacy, schools, teaching
Family Law & Parenting
by Stefanie Varze - Last Updated Jun 27, 2017
This section contains legal information on topics relating to divorce, child custody, and parenting.
Tags: apprehension, child abuse, child welfare, custody, discipline, divorce, domestic violence, elder abuse, foster care, parenting, parents, permanent guardianship order, pregnancy, spousal abuse
Gladue Resources
by Stefanie Varze - Last Updated Jun 27, 2017
This section contains background information on the Gladue Decision, as well as the applications of this ruling and the preparation of Gladue documents
Tags: gladue, gladue reports, historic trauma, restorative justice, sentencing
Health Information
by Stefanie Varze - Last Updated Jun 27, 2017
This section contains information on various aspects of Indigenous health, with links to healthcare services.
Tags: aids, benefits, cancer, diabetes, fasd, fetal alcohol syndrome, fitness, food, food safety, health, health care, healthy living, hiv, immunization, nutrition, recipes, sexual health, traditional medicine, vaccines
Human Rights
by Stefanie Varze - Last Updated Jun 27, 2017
This section contains legislation pertaining to human rights, and simplified explanations of these rights.
Interacting With The Police
by Stefanie Varze - Last Updated Jun 27, 2017
This section provides information and advice for people who are dealing with the police.
Tags: arrest, custody, officer, police, rights, search
Labour Law
by Stefanie Varze - Last Updated Jun 27, 2017
This section contains resources on employment laws in Canada.
Tags: complaint, deduction, employee, employer, employment, fire, labour, layoff, rights, terminate
Legal Aid Services
by Stefanie Varze - Last Updated Jun 27, 2017
This section contains links to various legal aid services, especially those with a focus on helping the Aboriginal community.
Tags: advice, lawyer referral, legal advice, legal aid, legal information, pro bono, services
Living with a Disability
by Stefanie Varze - Last Updated Jun 27, 2017
This section compiles helpful documents and links to services for persons with disabilities.
Tags: accessibility, benefits, disability, disabled, mental health, services
Mental Health & Addictions
by Stefanie Varze - Last Updated Jun 27, 2017
This section includes resources on the law relating to mental health & addiction, as well as links to treatment centres and services.
Tags: addictions, alcohol, disabled, drug use, health, mental health, mental illness, pregnancy, recovery, substance abuse, suicide prevention, tobacco, traditional knowledge, treatment
Online Journals, Blogs & News Sources
by Stefanie Varze - Last Updated Jun 27, 2017
This section contains links to online journals and news sources relevant to First Nations people, as well as law journals. These sources are designed to keep you up to date with Aboriginal issues.
Tags: aboriginal, addictions, blogs, corrections, first nations, health, indigenous, journal, law, legal, magazine, native, news, newsletter, newspaper, periodical, radio, substance abuse, television
Residential School & Historic Trauma Survivor Resources
by Stefanie Varze - Last Updated Jun 27, 2017
This section provides information intended to help victims of historic trauma and residential schools in Canada to find healing.
Tags: healing, historic trauma, intergenerational trauma, reconciliation, residential schools
Resources for Courtworkers
by Stefanie Varze - Last Updated Jun 27, 2017
This section contains orientation materials and useful links and documents intended to help courtworkers in their role.
Restorative Justice
by Stefanie Varze - Last Updated Jun 27, 2017
This section offers manuals on how to develop restorative justice programs, as well as contact information for existing programs, and studies on restorative justice principles.
Tenant Rights & Housing Programs
by Stefanie Varze - Last Updated Jun 27, 2017
This guide contains resources that explain tenant's legal rights and responsibilities.
Traffic Law & Road Saftety
by Stefanie Varze - Last Updated Jun 27, 2017
This section contains simplified and original versions of traffic law, as well as resources on safe driving.
Young Offenders
by Stefanie Varze - Last Updated Jun 27, 2017
This guide contains information relating to young offenders.
 
 
Description

  Loading...