This is the "Home" page of the "Breach, Parole, Pardons/Record Suspensions" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Breach, Parole, Pardons/Record Suspensions   Tags: bail, breach, conditional release, courts, hearings, justice system, pardon, parole, record suspension, sentencing  

This section focuses on the law as it relates to breach charges and sentencing conditions.
Last Updated: Jul 28, 2015 URL: http://ncsa.libguides.com/parole Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Overview of Breach, Parole, Pardons/Record Suspensions

parole board

This LibGuide page provides resources dedicated to court breaches, parole, record suspensions (formerly known as pardons), and bail.

This information is designed to inform the defendant about these court processes and things they should know when going through the court system.

 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Web Links

These links provide information on bail, court breaches, record suspensions, and others. Links to relevant forms and FAQs are also provided.

  • What is a Breach of Recognizance?
    This resource from the Midland Police Service explains in very clear terms what breach of recognizance is, and what the consequences of breach are.
  • Bail and Release Documents
    A guide from Victims Info which describes the conditions for granting bail, as well as release documents such as Bail Orders, Non-Communications Orders, Summons, and written promises to appear in court.
  • Record Suspension And Purge Services
    This FAQ from the RCMP explains how to apply for a record suspension (pardon), and RCMP policies around police records retention and how requests for records are handled.
  • Procedure On Breach Of Condition
    Prepared by YourLaws.ca, this section of the criminal code addresses procedures to be taken when an offender breaches the terms of his or her release.
  • Criminal Records And Pardons (Record Suspension)
    An FAQ page created by the Legal Information Society of Nova Scotia which explains the criteria for obtaining a pardon and changes made to this process.
  • Parole Board of Canada
    The Parole Board of Canada (PBC) is an independent administrative tribunal that has exclusive authority under the Corrections and Conditional Release Act to grant, deny, cancel, terminate or revoke day parole and full parole. The PBC may also order certain offenders to be held in prison until the end of their sentence.
  • Record Suspensions (Parole Board of Canada)
    Contains information on record suspensions (formerly a pardon), how to apply for one, and the forms you need.
  • Bail Hearings (Justice Canada)
    Taken from the Justice Canada publication, "A Crime Victim's Guide to the Criminal Justice System," this section provides information on bail hearings and conditional releases depending on the nature of the crime and the defendant's circumstances.
  • Decision Registry Fact Sheet
    This FAQ from the Parole Board of Canada provides information on the keeping of a registry of decisions for conditional release as a way of increasing public understanding and promoting openness and accountability.
  • Parole, Pardons and Clemency Quickstats
    A summary of statistics available for offenders granted parole, granted pardons, hearings conducted, appeals made, and others.
 

Elder Assisted Hearings

This video from the Parole Board of Canada explains the role of an Aboriginal Elder when hearings take place for Aboriginal offenders.

 

Tips for Completing a Record Suspension Application

"This video provides record suspension applicants with helpful tips to avoid mistakes and errors in their application, which can delay its processing."

A complete video tutorial on applying for a record suspension is available at the Parole Board of Canada website.

 

Your Guide to Parole

"This video presents information on parole and is meant to increase offenders' understanding and awareness of the parole process.

For more information on the Parole Board of Canada, visit our web site at www.pbc-clcc.gc.ca."

 

Sharing Information - Police Reports

"This video describes how the Parole Board of Canada relies on many partners in the criminal justice system to provide it with quality information for use in its conditional release decision-making.

For more information on the Parole Board of Canada, visit our web site at www.pbc-clcc.gc.ca."

 

What You Need to Know About Parole if You're in Provincial/Territorial Custody

"This video explains parole eligibility for offenders in provincial or territorial custody.

For more information on the Parole Board of Canada, visit our web site at www.pbc-clcc.gc.ca."

Other Guides to Check Out

For other relevant guides, please check out the following.

Correctional Facilities & Healing Lodges
by Brett Lambert - Last Updated Jul 28, 2015
A collection of resources on correctional facilities and services.
211 views this year
Court Processes & Working With a Lawyer
by Brett Lambert - Last Updated Jul 28, 2015
This section contains resources on what to expect in the courtroom and how you can work with your lawyer.
5 views this year
Gladue Resources
by Brett Lambert - Last Updated Jul 28, 2015
This section contains background information on the Gladue Decision, as well as the applications of this ruling and the preparation of Gladue documents
229 views this year

Share A Link!

Have suggestions for materials that should be added to this page or other pages on our LibGuides? Use our submit form below and we'll review it for inclusion!

For general feedback, please use the "Feedback" form on the bottom of this page.

 

Pardons/Record Suspensions

The following resources provides information on the process of parole and record suspensions.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip